An astounding collection of short stories filled with memorable and rich characters. As Adichie’s famous TED Talk says, there is danger in a single story, and here Adichie offers us a plethora of stories, some set in Nigeria, others in the US, some part way between. There are many notable stories here, the title work The Thing Around Your Neck addr...

If no one ever died, maybe we would never learn what it meant to miss them.

Kirsty Logan is a writer much in the tradition of Angela Carter and Neil Gaiman who subvert and play with fairy tale narratives to create new resonant stories for our time. I’ve read two other of Kirsty Logan’s books: The Gracekeepers (set in a water world with a travel...

There’s tons to admire in Kelly Link’s short stories: her world building and characterisation are all on point – she tells stories set in these strange off-kilter worlds that aren’t that different from ours (one has fairies, another superheroes, another pocket-universes – the ideas flow originally and freely) but the emphases is always on story and...

Daisy Johnson’s Fen reminds me of that particular blend of British magic realism that is so casual in its mythic and strange elements that it becomes mundane (but never dull) and allows for a greater exploration of character and story. It is bedfellows with Kirsty Logan’s A Portable Shelter, or China Miéville short stories and of course Angela...

Phew! That was a long title and the first story in this remarkable debut collection by Jessie Greengrass. The title story is one of the strongest and details a sailor’s repeated visits to a remote Arctic island, trapping and killing the Great Auk, a type of penguin that was hunted to extinction in the mid-nineteenth century. Like many of the storie...

Please reload

Our Recent Posts

Parable of the Talents by Octavia Butler

Autumn by Ali Smith

The Talented Mr Ripley by Patricia Highsmith

1/3
Please reload

BOOK REVIEWS

From new titles to old classics

  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
tinyletter.png

©2018 by Elizabeth Lovatt. Proudly created with Wix.com