We are Earthseed.

And the Destiny of Earthseed

Is to take root among the stars.

Does Octavia Butler have a crystal ball? That was the main question I asked myself as I read this book, so much of what Butler wrote (back in 1998) seems to speak to not only the early 2000s, but right now, literally right now as the US elections are only days away and the...

June 2015 and September 2016

What was it to love someone, what was love exactly, and why did it end or not end? Those were the real questions, and who could answer them.

This review is long, winding and spoilery…


This novel is at its heart a love story, a girl meets woman, a fall in love at first sight love story, a coming of age story, an artist’s s...

“I think we are only afraid of ourselves,” the doctor said slowly.

“No,” Luke said. “Of seeing ourselves clearly and without disguise.”

You may have seen Shirley Jackson’s name bouncing around the web-literati lately, she’s having a bit of a resurgence due to a new biography by Ruth Franklin published in October. It’s one I welcome.

The Haunting...

Two reviews, one from my first reading in Feb 2014 and the second from Aug 2016. I really enjoy re-reading my favourite books and seeing how they shift over time. How you find new things in theme depending where you ‘at’. There’s no better way to explore the author/reader relationship than to re-read a text and see what new things you find. Proving...

If no one ever died, maybe we would never learn what it meant to miss them.

Kirsty Logan is a writer much in the tradition of Angela Carter and Neil Gaiman who subvert and play with fairy tale narratives to create new resonant stories for our time. I’ve read two other of Kirsty Logan’s books: The Gracekeepers (set in a water world with a travel...

Please reload

Our Recent Posts

Parable of the Talents by Octavia Butler

Autumn by Ali Smith

The Talented Mr Ripley by Patricia Highsmith

1/3
Please reload

BOOK REVIEWS

From new titles to old classics

  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
tinyletter.png

©2018 by Elizabeth Lovatt. Proudly created with Wix.com