“I think we are only afraid of ourselves,” the doctor said slowly.

“No,” Luke said. “Of seeing ourselves clearly and without disguise.”

You may have seen Shirley Jackson’s name bouncing around the web-literati lately, she’s having a bit of a resurgence due to a new biography by Ruth Franklin published in October. It’s one I welcome.

The Haunting...

Two reviews, one from my first reading in Feb 2014 and the second from Aug 2016. I really enjoy re-reading my favourite books and seeing how they shift over time. How you find new things in theme depending where you ‘at’. There’s no better way to explore the author/reader relationship than to re-read a text and see what new things you find. Proving...

If no one ever died, maybe we would never learn what it meant to miss them.

Kirsty Logan is a writer much in the tradition of Angela Carter and Neil Gaiman who subvert and play with fairy tale narratives to create new resonant stories for our time. I’ve read two other of Kirsty Logan’s books: The Gracekeepers (set in a water world with a travel...

Deborah Levy is a writer of dreamy precise prose that stirs within the reader a certain atmosphere of contemplation and sunshine (her stories are often set abroad) that stays long after the novel ends. I felt the same, strange, out of reality atmosphere when I read her previous novel Swimming Home and I felt it again reading Hot Milk...

“It is simply this: do not tire, never lose interest, never grow indifferent – lose your invaluable curiosity and you let yourself die. It’s as simple as that.”

I’m back on Dear Damsels this month for their theme of ‘Curiosity’ – I wrote about one of my forever favs: Tove Jansson (creator of the Moomins, artist, writer, already babe) and her life ph...

Please reload

Our Recent Posts

Parable of the Talents by Octavia Butler

Autumn by Ali Smith

The Talented Mr Ripley by Patricia Highsmith

1/3
Please reload

BOOK REVIEWS

From new titles to old classics

  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
tinyletter.png

©2018 by Elizabeth Lovatt. Proudly created with Wix.com