Two reviews, one from my first reading in Feb 2014 and the second from Aug 2016. I really enjoy re-reading my favourite books and seeing how they shift over time. How you find new things in theme depending where you ‘at’. There’s no better way to explore the author/reader relationship than to re-read a text and see what new things you find. Proving...

If no one ever died, maybe we would never learn what it meant to miss them.

Kirsty Logan is a writer much in the tradition of Angela Carter and Neil Gaiman who subvert and play with fairy tale narratives to create new resonant stories for our time. I’ve read two other of Kirsty Logan’s books: The Gracekeepers (set in a water world with a travel...

There’s tons to admire in Kelly Link’s short stories: her world building and characterisation are all on point – she tells stories set in these strange off-kilter worlds that aren’t that different from ours (one has fairies, another superheroes, another pocket-universes – the ideas flow originally and freely) but the emphases is always on story and...

Daisy Johnson’s Fen reminds me of that particular blend of British magic realism that is so casual in its mythic and strange elements that it becomes mundane (but never dull) and allows for a greater exploration of character and story. It is bedfellows with Kirsty Logan’s A Portable Shelter, or China Miéville short stories and of course Angela...

Deborah Levy is a writer of dreamy precise prose that stirs within the reader a certain atmosphere of contemplation and sunshine (her stories are often set abroad) that stays long after the novel ends. I felt the same, strange, out of reality atmosphere when I read her previous novel Swimming Home and I felt it again reading Hot Milk...

Please reload

Our Recent Posts

Parable of the Talents by Octavia Butler

Autumn by Ali Smith

The Talented Mr Ripley by Patricia Highsmith

1/3
Please reload

BOOK REVIEWS

From new titles to old classics

  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
tinyletter.png

©2018 by Elizabeth Lovatt. Proudly created with Wix.com