He hated becoming Thomas Ripley again, hated being nobody.

The plot of Highsmith’s novel is perhaps best known from the 1999 film: it is essentially a character study, the character just so happens to have a knack for forgery, imitation and murder. We follow Tom Ripley as he leaves New York (and a bunch of income tax scams) to undertake the task of...

June 2015 and September 2016

What was it to love someone, what was love exactly, and why did it end or not end? Those were the real questions, and who could answer them.

This review is long, winding and spoilery…


This novel is at its heart a love story, a girl meets woman, a fall in love at first sight love story, a coming of age story, an artist’s s...

An astounding collection of short stories filled with memorable and rich characters. As Adichie’s famous TED Talk says, there is danger in a single story, and here Adichie offers us a plethora of stories, some set in Nigeria, others in the US, some part way between. There are many notable stories here, the title work The Thing Around Your Neck addr...

If no one ever died, maybe we would never learn what it meant to miss them.

Kirsty Logan is a writer much in the tradition of Angela Carter and Neil Gaiman who subvert and play with fairy tale narratives to create new resonant stories for our time. I’ve read two other of Kirsty Logan’s books: The Gracekeepers (set in a water world with a travel...

Daisy Johnson’s Fen reminds me of that particular blend of British magic realism that is so casual in its mythic and strange elements that it becomes mundane (but never dull) and allows for a greater exploration of character and story. It is bedfellows with Kirsty Logan’s A Portable Shelter, or China Miéville short stories and of course Angela...

Please reload

Our Recent Posts

Parable of the Talents by Octavia Butler

Autumn by Ali Smith

The Talented Mr Ripley by Patricia Highsmith

1/3
Please reload

BOOK REVIEWS

From new titles to old classics

  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
tinyletter.png

©2018 by Elizabeth Lovatt. Proudly created with Wix.com